Open Access


Netzwerk
Image: pixabay/verändert

Free access to scientific information without technical, financial or legal barriers - with Open Access.

Open Access means unrestricted and free access to scientific information on the Internet aiming at a fast and sustainable dissemination of research results.

With a Senate Resolution back in 2006, the University of Potsdam expressed its support for free access to scientific publications of its members and thus encourages all its scientists and scholars to publish open access.

The principles stated in the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities of October 2003 form an essential basis for the publication of research results in the future. On 21 December 2015,  the President of the University of Potsdam, Prof. Dr. Oliver Günther, signed the Berlin Declaration on behalf of the University of Potsdam.

In August 2019, the Open Access Strategy of the State of Brandenburg was published. This strategy aims to ensure that all publications by members of publicly funded scientific institutions be open access in the future, provided there are no legal, financial, technological or structural reasons for the contrary. A factsheetbriefly summarizes the main aspects.


The University Library offers Open Access solutions for first and secondary publications and provides comprehensive advice on financial support for Open Access publications. To finance publications in Open Access journals, the University of Potsdam provides a publication fund, among others.

Open Access


Netzwerk
Bild: pixabay/verändert

Freier Zugang zu wissenschaftlicher Information ohne technische, finanzielle oder rechtliche Barrieren. Mit Open Access.

Open Access steht für den ungehinderten und unentgeltlichen Zugang zu wissenschaftlicher Information im Internet mit dem Ziel einer schnellen und nachhaltigen Verbreitung von Forschungsergebnissen.

Mit einer Senatsresolution hat sich die Universität Potsdam schon 2006 für einen freien Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen ihrer Angehörigen ausgesprochen und ermutigt alle ihre Wissenschaftler*innen open access zu publizieren.

Grundlage dafür ist vor allem die Berliner Erklärung (Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities) vom Oktober 2003. Hier wurden Prinzipien formuliert, nach denen Forschungsergebnisse zukünftig veröffentlicht werden sollen. Am 21.12.2015 hat der Präsident der Universität Potsdam, Prof. Dr. Oliver Günther, die Berliner Erklärung für die Universität Potsdam unterzeichnet.

Im August 2019 wurde die Open-Access-Strategie des Landes Brandenburg veröffentlicht. Darin wurde das Ziel formuliert, dass alle Publikationen von Angehörigen der öffentlich geförderten Wissenschaftseinrichtungen zukünftig open access erscheinen, wenn keine rechtlichen, finanziellen, technologischen oder strukturellen Gründe entgegenstehen. Ein Factsheet fasst die wesentlichen Aspekte knapp zusammen.

Die Universitätsbibliothek bietet Open-Access-Lösungen für Erst- und Zweitpublikationen an und berät umfassend zur finanziellen Förderung von Open-Access-Publikationen. Zur Finanzierung von Publikationen in Open-Access-Zeitschriften stellt die Universität Potsdam unter anderem einen Publikationsfonds zur Verfügung.